Since I was born, I am blessed to say that I was lucky to have food already prepared every morning, lunch, and dinner time made by my mom. But to my benefit, it wasn’t so good because it made me lazy to learn how to cook and be even more dependent of my mom to cook all the meals. Now that I’m a grown woman, I feel horrible for not even trying to attempt to even make a proper dish. Don’t get me wrong, I did help once in a while to chop up some vegetables and fry some things but those are inexcusable because its easy to do. What I mean’t was to be on my own, find a recipe, and prepare a decent meal for the whole family to eat. So, although, it took me some time to finally grow up, I took a chance and tried to make Chicken Pesto Pasta.

Image
 This was a simple dish with probably less than ten ingredients. For the pesto sauce I only needed basil leaves, grated cheese, garlic, pine nuts, olive oil to mix into a puree and the rest I just needed to grill chicken breast and boil pasta noodles. How hard does that sound? Not at all. However, due to my unexperienced self, my first attempt was a no go. My noodles we overcooked, my chicken was undercooked, and my pesto sauce needed to be mixed more, it was too nutty. It was a mess or really I was a mess. I broke down to my boyfriend and told him, “I give up, I’m wasting food” I felt as though I wasn’t smart enough to cook anything, I guess with my mom making the meals almost everyday it really impacted me in a bad way. As I sat down, my boyfriend replied softly, “Its okay babe, I know you can cook. Just try again, we still have ingredients.” Because of him being there and supporting me throughout this process, it helped me to calm down and decided to try again. All I needed was someone to push me and I finally have someone who will. Without him, I know for a fact I would have given up and asked my mom to cook it for me. But I stood up from where I was sitting and started to gather of what was left over from the ingredients I bought.

Image

PART_1369034680183 PART_1369033455630

To fix my mistakes I made sure I did more or less of what I did last time and it turned out much better than the first attempt: the noodles weren’t sticking all together, my chicken was well done because I decided to fry it for about ten minutes then bake it for twenty-five minutes (it got deliciously crispy and I decided to add some herb spices and diced garlic on top), and my pesto was smoother leaving it in the blender more. My Chicken Pesto Pasta turned out better than ever. I felt so accomplished and proud of myself. I actually wanted to find more recipes and cook some more but it was already 2 in the morning. Anyways, after cooking this dish successfully, it really boosted up my self-esteem and self-confidence. It made me realize that I shouldn’t give up so easily and to always try again. And it also made me realize that practice does make perfect because without practice there will be no improvement.

Image
Image
Image
